Pete’s choice are two stars of the red hot French Express label – American DJ and producer Perseus and Sweden’s Jonas Rathsman. Perseus recently remixed Jessie Ware’s Night Light, whilst Rathsman is behind the funky Tobago EP. The label also released Chris Malinchak’s recent Essential New Tune, So Good To Me.

Co-mixed by Perseus and Jonas, this is two hours of euphoric and soulful music rooted in a contemporary house. Talking about their selections, Perseus explains ‘Club tracks rotate by the month and this mix had to go beyond that. This mix is an essential snapshot of what French Express stands for, an amalgamation of tunes selected by the combined tastes of the label, for the listener, without getting too historical, tributary, or knee deep in personal inspiration-lending music of our pasts’.

Pete Tong of BBC Radio 1 brings you this fantastic mix by future stars of 2013, Perseus and Jonas Rathsman. The mix includes many of the hits from the French Express label as well as some unfamiliar ones. Get acquainted with these guys, they are definitely going to be taking over.




01. Underworld – Jumbo (Francois K & Rob Rives Remix) [Junior Boy’s Own]
02. Chris Malinchak – If U Got It [French Express]
03. Julio Bashmore – Au Seve [Boardwalk Records]
04. Jonas Rathsman – Bringing You Down [French Express]
05. Round One – I’m Your Brother [Main Street Records]
06. A Guy Called Gerald – Humanity (Ashley Beedle’s Love and Compassion) [!K7 Records]
07. Sloth & Dormant – Here And Now (EBE Remix) [URS Records]
08. Maya Jane Coles – Easier to Hide [I Am Me]
09. Isaac Tichauer – Devotion [French Express]
10. Lee Foss & MK – Electricity [Hot Creations]
11. Jeremy Glenn – New Life (Perseus ‘Summer of 83’ Remix) [Future Classic]
12. Spandau Ballet – True [Chrysalis]
13. P.M. Dawn – Set Adrift On Memory Bliss [Island Records]
14. Alison Valentine – Peanut Butter (Moon Boots Remix) [CDR]
15. Aaliyah – One In A Million [Blackground Records]
16. Aaliyah – One In A Million (Danny Daze & Young Edits Bootleg) [CDR]
17. Isaac Tichauer – I Forgive You [French Express]
18. Perseus – Love In Zanzibar [French Express]
19. Jakwob – Electrify (Sega Bodega Remix) [CDR]
20. Barry White – Loves Interlude / Good Night My Love [A&M Records]
21. Stewrat – Disagreements [French Express]
22. Kenton Slash Demon – Sun [Tartelet Records]
23. The White Lamp – It’s You (Ron Basejam Remix) [Futureboogie Recordings]
24. Last Magpie – (Who Knows) Where Love Goes [Hypercolour]
25. Hot Toddy – Mutha Sucka [Smoke N’ Mirrors]
26. SLG – Goat Cheese [Studio Barnhus]
27. Tangerine Dream – Love On A Real Train [Virgin Records]
28. Staffan Lindberg – Art Of The State [Dolly Dubs]
29. Frank B – Chain Of Fools [ITH Records]
30. Andrés – Skate This Way [La Vida]
31. FCL – It’s You (Will Azada Improperly Heated Rework) [CDR]
32. Ralph Falcon – Whateva [Nervous Records]
33. Good Guy Mikesh & Filburt – No Other (Instrumental) [Riotvan]
34. Jonas Rathsman – Since I Don’t Have You [French Express]
35. Zak Toms – Bring Me Down (Stanton Warriors Vocal mix) [Pure Silk Records]
36. Youan – Must Be Love [CDR]
37. Duke Dumont – The Giver [Turbo Recordings]
38. Shadow Child – 23 [Food Music]
39. A Lister – What Can I Do [Orange Groove]
40. Jonas Rathsman – Just You [French Express]
41. Nick Nikolov – Come Down [Liebe Detail]
42. Chris Malinchak – So Good To Me [French Express]

Perseus and Jonas Rathsman Thread